Johann Sebastian Bach - 6 Cello-Suiten

Johann Sebastian Bach (21 March 1685 – 28 July 1750) was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity. Although he did not introduce new forms, he enriched the prevailing German style with a robust contrapuntal technique, an unrivalled control of harmonic and motivic organisation, and the adaptation of rhythms, forms and textures from abroad, particularly from Italy and France.

The Six Suites for Unaccompanied Cello by Johann Sebastian Bach are some of the most performed and recognizable solo compositions ever written for cello. They were most likely composed during the period 1717–1723, when Bach served as a Kapellmeister in Cöthen.

Johann Sebastian Bach - 6 Cello-Suiten

Deutsche Grammophon - 415-417-2

Deutsche Grammophon - 415-418-2

Deutsche Grammophon - 415-419-2

Printed in West Germany by J. Alt GmbH, Niederdorfelden - with barcode